Writing trick No 1: FLOW

Dr Marcus Gottschalk
2 min readJun 15, 2022

I admit I am a novice writer. While I am not new to reading, I am new to writing. I don’t know the tricks.

I have loads of ideas. Guess that has to do with my job. I had ideas all my life. Thankfully, I also executed … some.

I am reading about people who write for a living. Or at least they pretend to write for a living to share generously their writer wisdom.

The first lesson I have for myself is:

Use the power of flow and momentum.

I am making myself a nice “cuppa”, getting the milk out of the fridge, and bang! There it is! Another idea!

Finishing making my tea and my idea is gone. Not only my idea, my flow and momentum is gone too.

Keep the flow flowing!

So, no more tea making, stirring, drinking or procrastinating. When I have an idea, I feel the urge to write. Using this momentum gives me happiness and satisfaction.

While I am in flow, I am enjoying:

  • A complete concentration on the task
  • Transformation of time: it flies by!
  • I am immediately rewarded — intrinsically.
  • Being at ease. It feels effortless.
  • I am in control. The words are mine.

Before I go, here my disclaimer.

-Perhaps you heard about positive psychology? Mihaly Csikszentmihalyi is the inventor of the flow concept.

-Goethe said (apparently): “I am writing a long letter, for a short, I have no time.” Goethe inspires me to keep my writing crisp.

--

--

Dr Marcus Gottschalk

I write for Men over 50. I am one of them. I have a MSc in Mechanical Engineering, hold a Doctor in Coaching & Mentoring, and own CLP a leadership consultancy.